Skip to main content

Add Me To Your Mailing List


Each year, the Women's Council of Dallas County recognizes outstanding contributions and leadership through our annual Women's Council Awards. These are given to an individual member, to a member organization, to a public servant for distinguished service related to the purpose of The Women's Council, and to a woman who has had a significant impact to the Dallas/Ft. Worth Metroplex through leadership, perseverance and creativity in her respective field or through her volunteer work.




Congratulations to Our Past Award Recipients


Distinguished Individual


1987 Lucy Polter

1988 Johnnie Marie Grimes

1989 Danna B. Whorton

1990 Barbara L. Watkins

1991 Shirley Tobolowsky

1993 Hortense Sanger

1994 Susan Stahl

1995 Syl Benenson

1996 Virginia Whitehill

1997 Julie Lowenberg

1998 Ellen Bracken and Jeanne Fagadau

1999 Dr. Catalina Garcia

2002 Dene Broders

2003 Devonne Foutz

2004 Beverly Tobian

2005 Martha Stowe

2006 Theresa Daniel

2007 Lisa Oglesby Rocha

2008 Sue Ann Gilman

2009 Pat Peiser

2010 Barbara Materka

2011 Linda Camin

2012 Sharon King
2013 Kristen Brandt James
2014 Janie Metzinger
2015 Ella Goode Johnson
2016 Marlene Cohen


Distinguished Public Service


1996 Jane Wetzel

1997 Lois Finkelman

1998 Yvonne A. Ewell

1999 Adlene Harrison

2002 Rose Marie Stromberg     

2003 Pauline Kress

2004 Rebecca Bergstresser

2005 Mavis Knight

2006 Veletta Lill Forsythe

2007 Martha Blaine

2008 Ann Margolin

2009 Julia Easley

2010 The Honorable Carolyn Wright

2011 Lynda Ender

2012 Lisa Hembry
2013 Wanda Meshack Smith
2014 Mary Ann Russ
2015 Susybelle Gosslee


Distinguished Member Organization


1987 National Council of Jewish Women

1988 LINKS

1989 League of Women Voters

1990 Church Women United of Dallas

1991 Women’s Service League

1992 Girls, Inc

1993 YWCA

1994 Save the Children

1995 Junior League of Dallas

1996 The Volunteer Center

1997 Assistance League of Dallas

1999 Greater Dallas Community of Churches

2002 Children’s Advocacy Center

2003 Northwood Women’s Club

2004 Dallas Community Television

2005 Our Friend’s Place

2006 North Texas Food Bank

2007 Women’s Issues Network

2008 Delta Sigma Theta Sorority

2009 Community Council of Greater Dallas

2011 Mental Health of America of Greater Dallas

2012 Dallas Area Habitat for Humanity
2013 National Council of Jewish Women
2014 Girl Scouts of North East Texas


Woman of the Year


2006 Mary Suhm

2007 Eddie Bernice Johnson

2008 Helen Giddings

2009 Dr. Elba Garcia

2010 Vivian Castleberry

2011 Mavis Knight

2012 Jennifer Sampson
2013 Colleen Walker
2014 Molly Bogen
2015 The Honorable Dr. Harryette B. Ehrhardt
2016 Dr. Jennifer Wimbish


Emerging Leader


2008 Kristine Schwope

2010 Brandon Gallop Rice

2011 Jenny King

The Bev Award

2012 Beverly Tobian

2013 "The Dazzling Dozen": Syl Benenson, Vivian Castleberry, Eleanor Conrad, Adlene Harrison, Mary Ellen "Mitch" Jericho, Pauline Kress, Anita Marcus, Barbara Materka, Ruth Ann Montgomery, Pat Peiser, Shirley Tobolowsky, Virginia Whitehill

2014 The Dallas Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta, Incorporated